Department of Mathematical Sciences and
The School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Mathematical Physics and General Relativity Symposium
in Honor of Professor Ivor Robinson

May 7-9, 2017 at UTD


Plenary Speakers

  • Joshua Goldberg
  • Peter A. Hogan
  • Lane Hughston
  • Jim Isenberg
  • Bogdan Mielnik
  • Cecile Morette-Dewitt
  • Pawel Nurowski
  • Don N. Page
  • Peter Ozsvath
  • Eric Poisson
  • Robert Wald
  • Stanley Deser
  • Malcolm A.H. MacCallum
  • Organizers

  • Mohammad Akbar (UTD)
  • Mieczyslaw K. Dabkowski (UTD)
  • Vladimir Dragovic (Chair, UTD)
  • Ali Hooshyar (UTD)
  • Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki (UTD)
  • Viswanath Ramakrishna (UTD)
  • Don Salisbury (Austin College)
  • Consultant

  • Wolfgang Rindler (UTD)
  • The Mathematical Physics and General Relativity Symposium will honor the scientific legacy of the late Professor Ivor Robinson. It will be an occasion to discuss recent developments in the field and an opportunity for two generations of researchers to meet and exchange ideas.

    The symposium is sponsored by The Department of Mathematical Sciences at UTD, The School of Natural Sciences & Mathematics, and The National Science Foundation. We request that all participants register as early as possible ($90 students, $200 non-student), and no later than 2nd May. Those willing to speak or present a poster please submit an abstract as early as possible -- see tabs on the left. Abstracts will be reviewed on a rolling basis and participants will be informed accordingly.

    To read more about Professor Ivor Robinson please click here or the photo below.       


    Dear Chris DeWitt,  

    We heard with the greatest sorrow of the death of our beloved friend and colleague, Cecile Morette-DeWitt. She has been sorely missed by the entire group of scientists assembled here in Dallas at this memorial meeting celebrating the life of Ivor Robinson. We are further saddened that her death comes during the time of this event. We know how much she had been looking forward to participating. We send you and your family the deepest sympathy and condolences.

    Wolfgang Rindler, Joshua Goldberg, Mohammad Akbar, Mieczyslaw Dabkowski, Vladimir Dragovic, Ali Hooshyar, Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki, Viswanath Ramakrishna, Don Salisbury, and all the participants of the Symposium